Handspun/Art Yarn Patterns

There’s a new website resource for those looking for patterns specifically created for use with highly textured yarns! There’s so much here to inspire you , from patterns and beyond.

thisyarncard

http://www.thisyarn.com/

Although you’re really only limited by your imagination when it comes to the wonderful and wacky world of art yarns, it’s still nice to have a library of pattern ideas to draw from and spark that imagination of yours. Here’s a nice jumping-off point list of patterns from Ravelry that I’ve compiled for you! Some of these are suitable for the nature of a textured handspun, others are great for thread-plied, coiled, or other highly textured yarns. Some are adaptable for a variety of yarns. Please take a look with your imagination open wide. Also, if you know of a pattern that I haven’t listed here but you think should be, just let me know!

From Kirsten Kaspur:
One Day Beret 2 http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/one-day-beret-2
Lisa’s and Katie’s Berets http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lisas-and-katies-berets

From Lee Meredith/Leethal [lots of small yardage requirements!]:
Buttonhead [hat] http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/buttonhead
Haka [hat] http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/haka
Ten 10 Yard Cuffs http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/ten-10-yard-cuffs
Big Bulky Bucket Hat http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/big-bulky-bucket-hat
I have made many Leethal patterns and they’re all really fun – many of them not listed here are adaptable to handspun, too!

Frankie Brown:
Pinwheel Purse http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/pinwheel-purse-4
Round The Twist [scarf]: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/round-the-twist

Jennifer Kelley:
Beautiful Dawn [cowl] http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/beautiful-dawn
Oversized Cowl http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/oversized-cowl-2

Derek & Lauren:
French Press Cozy http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/french-press-cozy-4
Try this with your handspun! Striped with coils might be fun, too!

Adrian Bizilia:
Handspun Thick and Thin Shawl http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/handspun-thick-and-thin-shawl
Gnomey Hat http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/gnomey-hat-3
French Press Cozy http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/french-press-cozy

Stephanie Shiman:
Unbiased [bag] http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/unbiased
Eureka Cowl http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/eureka-cowl
Mermaid’s Purse http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/mermaids-purse
Cellphone or iPod Pouches http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cellphone-or-ipod-pouches

Ann Weaver:
Shackleton Hat http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/shackleton-hat
Shante http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/shante

Stephanie Pearl-McPhee/The Yarn Harlot:
One Row Handspun Scarf http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/one-row-handspun-scarf
An Unoriginal Hat http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/an-unoriginal-hat
Ken’s Dulaan Hat http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/kens-dulaan-hat

Rachel Jones:
Popcorn Lace Cowl http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/popcorn-lace-cowl

Christine Long:
Handspun Twisted Drop Stitch Scarf http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/handspun-twisted-drop-stitch-scarf
ZOMG Cowl http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/zomg-cowl
Shimmery Lace Hairband and Wrist Cuffs http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/shimmery-lace-hairband-and-wrist-cuffs
Coils Cowl http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/coils-cowl
Sophisticated Coils Art Yarn Hat http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sophisticated-coils-art-yarn-hat
Knitting With Art Yarn Tutorial http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/knitting-with-art-yarn-tutorial

Nancy Ricci:
Vanessa Headband [in 2 widths] http://gettingpurlywithit.com/blog/free-pattern-vanessa-headband

Ashley Martineau
Neauveau Cowl and Tutorial http://knitty.com/ISSUEdf13/KSPATTneauveau.php
Pattern Catalog http://www.ravelry.com/designers/ashley-martineau-2
Everything Ashley designs seems to be for handspun, and it is all fun!

Natalie Wilson
Loopy and Luscious [scarf] http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/loopy–luscious

Susan Sheby 
Hoodie Cowl http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/hoodie-cowl
Cozy Cocoon Pillow http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cozy-cocoon-pillow
She has many patterns that are perfect for textured handspun! 

Jane Thornley 
Feather and Fan Organic Wrap http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/feather-n-fan-organic-wrap
Rogue Wave Wrap http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/rogue-wave-wrap

Danielle Alinia
The Neck Hug Cowl http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-neck-hug-cowl

Melissa Schaschery 
The Road To Gimmerton [cardigan] http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-road-to-gimmerton

Also, this search link will yield a number of great suggestions:
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/search#sort=best&query=handspun bulky

Artistic/textured yarn is great used as an accent or edging for any simple pattern calling for worsted/DK weight yarn. It stands out wonderfully and adds unexpected texture. Art yarn is a great way to take a run-of-the-mill pattern and turn it into a work of art!
A search you can run for “art yarn” on Ravelry: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/search#photo=yes&view=captioned_thumbs&query=art%20yarn&weight=super-bulky%7Cbulky&sort=best

 

** These patterns are sadly not available at this time, but I’ve listed them for inspirational purposes [and maybe Melissa will bring them back one day?] I’ve made the sweater and it is FABULOUS – though recommended for a tonal yarn, not a multi-toned. Ask me how I know!  😉

From Melissa Halvorson/Year Of The Goat:
Handspun Tunic Sweater http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/handspun-tunic-sweater
Corset Neck and Waist http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/corset-neck-and-waist

%d bloggers like this: